Chocolate Zucchini Muffins with Creamy Cashew Frosting

DSC_0617

There are quite a few foods that I only started eating when I went travelling, and zucchinis are one of them. I never really appreciated these lovelies before going to Australia- I guess that’s why I got into the habit of calling them zucchinis rather than courgettes. Anyway, they’re showing up a lot these days in my Helen’s Bay veggie deliveries, both the green variety and the yellow ones which I had never seen before.

I’ve been making Zoodles with them up until now (that’s zucchini noodles for those of you who haven’t tried it), but I fancied jazzing them up a bit this week.  Then I spotted a recipe for zucchini cakes posted by Eleanor Ozich, a blogger who really inspires me. Eleanor’s cakes looked so delicious, I just had to try them out myself!

DSC_0608

I used a similar recipe to Eleanor’s, but veganised! Honestly, this recipe delivered the most deliciously moist muffins I’ve ever had! (Sorry for using the word moist, I know a lot of people hate that word) But really, even 3 days after baking them, they’re as divine as they were straight out of the oven. I’m just finishing off the last one now…

DSC_0626

Mmm, a delightfully fudgy muffin with a creamy, dreamy cashew topping, I’m in heaven!

Chocolate Zucchini Muffins with Creamy Cashew Frosting (Makes 8 Muffins)

  • 2 cups Ground Almonds
  • 2 Zucchinis, chopped (I used 1 yellow and 1 green)
  • 1 cup Cacao powder
  • ¾ cup Coconut Sugar
  • ½ cup Coconut Oil
  • ½ cup Dairy Free Milk (I used coconut)
  • 4 Tbsp Flaxseeds
  • 4 Tbsp Date Syrup
  • 1 ½ tsp Baking Soda
  • ½ tsp Cinnamon
  • ½ tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Ground Coffee (optional)
  • 6 Medjool Dates, chopped
  • 1 cup Pecans, chopped

What To Do:

  • Preheat the oven to 160ºC.
  • Grind flaxseeds in a blender/food processor. Then add your dairy-free milk and allow to sit for 15 minutes until a gloopy, egg-like mixture forms.
  • Add the rest of the ingredients to the blender, except the medjool dates and pecans. Process until smooth.
  • Now stir in your chopped dates and pecans.
  • Divide the mixture between 8 large muffin cases, filling about ¾ of the way full.
  • Bake for about 40 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted. (I think my oven may be a little slower than most)
  • Remove from oven, and cool completely before frosting.

DSC_0600DSC_0589

For the Cashew Frosting:

  • 1 ½ cups Cashews, soaked overnight
  • ½ cup Water
  • 3 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
  • 2 Tbsp Maple Syrup (I used Date Syrup but it wasn’t quite sweet enough, so I also added 2 Medjool Dates)
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • Pinch Himalayan Salt

Simply blend all the ingredients until completely smooth and creamy. Refrigerate for 30 minutes before spreading on your muffins. Top with a few cacao nibs or nuts.

DSC_0613

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Muffins with Creamy Cashew Frosting

Leave a comment